Level I DUI
The DUI Level I Drug and Alcohol Education Course is twelve (12) hours of instruction is led by a state certified DUI Instructor designed to expose the DUI client who has had one alcohol or drug related traffic arrest/conviction to issues regarding the use of alcohol and drugs.
The DUI Level I Drug and Alcohol Education Course includes behavioral objectives for the students and consists of didactic and interactive educational methodologies. These issues include, but are not limited to, the effect and consequences, both personally and socially, of drinking/drugging on the driving task, definition of the DUI problem, the role of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, law enforcement and the judiciary, and discussion of community treatment resources. Substance abuse, chemical dependency, and additional issues will also be addressed.
The Registration fee is $283.00 for first time offenders (Level I). The program fee includes the $15.00 state assessment fee, a $5.00 testing fee, and a $3.00 breath tube fee. Online registrations also include a $10.50 online transaction fee and an additional $16.00 fee will be charged for the lifetime Florida driving record. Mail-in registrations also include a $2.00 transaction fee and an optional $16.00 fee for a lifetime Florida driving record. Out of state Driving Record fees vary by state. This fee Includes the 12 hour DUI drug and alcohol education course and a substance abuse evaluation.
- Tampa—Cash, Money Order, Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card and Debit Cards accepted.
- Brandon—Cash, Money Order, Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card and Debit Cards accepted.
- Online DUI Enrollment—Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card accepted.
DUI Level I Course Availability
- DUI Classes are available in English and Spanish.
- DUI Classes are available during the day, evenings or weekends.
- DUI Classes are located in Tampa and Brandon.
After the completion of the 12 hour DUI drug and alcohol education course and a substance abuse evaluation, you will be issued a certificate of completion.
Enrollees must register for the DUI Program in the county where they live, work or attend school, unless an exception has been granted.
If you enroll in or attend a Level I course by giving false or misleading information or by omission or failing to be forthcoming with information concerning previous DUI arrests or convictions or previous attendance at a DUI program, you will be required to re-enroll and complete the Level II program, including the evaluation appointment. In addition, you will be required to pay the full fee for Level II.